Today I received Note asking if a certain group could feature my work, my 1st thought was that it was weird that a group would send a note asking permission to feature my work, usually they'd do the feature and then
send me a link on the deviation. Secondly I could see they sent the note to a number of people, so they didn't even specify which piece they wanted to use. Then the note asked me to support some app and enter their contest if I downloaded it, saying that the moderaters of the group developed the app, not even telling me what the app does.
That said I was very suspicious, so I decided to search the group to check out the feature, my search at the top found no results when I copied and pasted the name, eventually I found the group through a check of my group list and saw that they were
doing features but when I checked the groups staff, I saw that the person who sent me the note wasn't amongst the staff. Instead I found them on the new members list. And when I clicked on that persons profile I saw that they joined today, which was a major red flag.
I'm glad I didn't click on the link, because I know there's been a lot of phishing attacks going around lately. Apparently that person's account has already been deactivated but they could be back again, on a different user name. So Please be careful guys, and spread the word!